Homemade Gifts: Body Scrub, Bath Salts and Hand Cream

In the lead up to Christmas last year, I was a tad bit broke and a bit worried about what I was going to do for Christmas presents with no money to buy anything. So, I got crafty. I decided I would have a DIY Christmas and make my own presents. Not only was this option easier on my bank account, but it also gave me something fun to do (I’m on uni holidays so I welcome a project!) as well as adding that personal touch that makes giving gifts a bit more special. I’ve always like the idea of giving handmade gifts – it just seems so much more thoughtful than handing over a gift voucher or something generic like that.

So, along with my Homemade Toasted Muesli that I gave out as gifts, I made some beauty products for the girls (my mum and my boyfriend’s mum). Once I had made the soak, scrub and cream I popped them in cute little jars (just from a $2 shop) with pretty little labels (mine are from kikki.K – I am beyond obsessed with that shop!).

Lavender-Scented Milk & Salt Bath Soak, Peppermint-Scented Sugar Scrub and Rose-Scented Hand Cream

 

Sugar Scrub

The Sugar Scrub was the easiest to make of the three. I adapted my recipe from Martha Stewart’s blog.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups coarse sugar (I used granulated raw sugar)
  • 1 cup oil (good quality, low scent)
  • your choice of scented essential oil

Method:

  1. Stir together sugar and oil
  2. Add essential oils, a few drops at a time until you have reached desired scent
  3. Spoon mixture into jars

 

Milk & Salt Bath Soak

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups powdered milk
  • 1 cup rock salt (optional)
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • your choice of scented essential oils

Method:

  1. Stir together powdered milk, salt and baking soda
  2. Add essential oils, a few drops at a time until you have reached desired scent
  3. Spoon mixture into jars

To Use: Add 1/4 – 1/2 cup to bath

 

 Hand Cream

This cream can be used anywhere on the body, I have just labelled it as hand cream. I found this recipe on Patchwork Times via Pinterest (another obsession!). The recipe on the website lists ounces, but I didn’t have a way to measure so I just used cups and adjusted accordingly. I also added some rose scented essential oils, you can add whatever you like.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Baby Lotion
  • 1 cup Vaseline
  • 1 cup Vitamin E Cream
  • your choice of scented essential oils

Method:

  1. Place all ingredients in a bowl
  2. Mix together with electric mixer until it looks like icing
  3. Add essential oils, a few drops at a time until you have reached desired scent
  4. Pop into jars/containers

 

What do you think of these products as gifts? Have you ever made anything similar? What are your favourite homemade gifts?

Eleanor x

12 responses

  1. Pingback: Happiness Project – Tools: | my subjunctive

  2. Pingback: DIY: Homemade Votive Candle Holders | my subjunctive

  3. I think these would make perfect gifts! I knit as a hobby, so I’ve actually made a sugar scrub and some face cloths and made a little “spa” basket out of those things. Homemade gifts are the best, aren’t they? I think so! Thanks for the great ideas for the milk bath and hand lotion! I’ll have to try those this year. 🙂

    • Wow, your “spa basket” idea sounds great! I’ll have to try that some time. I’m a huge fan of homemade gifts, so much more personal and thoughtful 🙂 let me know how you go with the milk bath and hand lotion 🙂 and thanks for reading and commenting! x

  4. Pingback: IT’S BACK: RELAXATION AT A DISCOUNT « dlcommunicates

  5. Pingback: OMJ! (Oh My Jars!) | my subjunctive

  6. Yes I too think they are a great Gift idea thank you so much, this will help with the rash i have from the allergy from some drugs I took, I am so drug sensitive,oh well have had worse, take care, HUGS and Cheers Jeanne xoxo

Leave a Reply

