Housewarming Cookies!

I made these cookies for a close friend of mine last year when she and her boyfriend bought their first house (at 21 years old!). I was so happy for her and wanted to do something a little bit fun and special. And of course, being me, I was thinking of what I could do that was fun and special (and house themed) within the realms of baking.

I’m a huge fan of Annie’s Eats – I literally drool looking the pictures of her creations – and I came across this recipe for sugar cookies with royal icing one day while idly paging through her many recipes. Anyone who is a regular over at Annie’s Eats will know that she is a tad bit obsessed with making and decorating sugar cookies – any occasion will do, halloween, easter, christmas, thanksgiving, valentine’s day, baby showers – anything!

I thought it was high time to attempt the old sugar cookie and took myself over to Queen Baker to find myself a house-shaped cookie cutter. Unfortunately, being an Aussie who uses the metric system, Annie’s lovely recipe with imperial measurements wasn’t going to work for me. So instead I used this recipe below from a cookbook my boyfriend’s mother gave me. I included the link above to Annie’s recipe for those of my readers who may be on the imperial system.

Housewarming Cookies

Little Sugar Cookie Houses!

Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon bicarb soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup butter/margarine
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence (I used extract)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk

Method:

  1. Sift the flour, bicarb soda and baking powder into a small bowl and set aside
  2. With an electric mixer, cream together the butter, caster sugar and vanilla until the mixture is light and fluffy
  3. Add the egg and beat well
  4. Add the flour mixture alternately with milk to make a soft dough
  5. Wrap in glad wrap and chill in fridge for at least 30 minutes
  6. Preheat oven to 180°C
  7. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface to 3mm thick
  8. Cut into shapes with cookie cutter
  9. Transfer to baking tray and cook for 10-12 minutes
  10. Cool on a wire rack before icing

I wasn’t game enough to try making royal icing from scratch, I’ve heard so many people groan at the thought of making their own royal icing, so I cheated and used the Queen Royal Icing packet mix. Plus, I was a bit pressed for time as I had a mountain of assignments that happened to be due at that time.

In other words, I was procrasti-baking. Yes, it’s a thing. Proof. See?

Some tips for the Royal Icing:

  • Don’t add too much water when first mixing or it will go too runny
  • Start decorating by tracing an outline of your shape and your design
  • Let that dry and then water down the royal icing and flood the area within the lines to create a smooth finish
  • For more tips on royal icing see here

Eleanor x

Leave a Reply

