Sweet and Sour Pork

Firstly, let me apologise for my lack of posts over the past week. I haven’t had a spare moment, luckily I am planning on writing a whole stockpile of draft posts soon so I always have something on hand to post regularly for you.

Now, I am not traditionally one to scour cooking magazines for recipe ideas and dinner inspiration but I recently picked up one of those cheap recipe idea magazines from the supermarket checkout (Recipes+) and found a whole lot of gems – including this sparkly one!

Quick, Cheap Recipes

Sweet and Sour Pork Medallions with Choy Sum and Jasmine Rice

Sweet and Sour Pork Medallions

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 x 125g pork loin medallions
  • 1 medium green capsicum, chopped
  • 1 medium yellow capsicum, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable/olive oil
  • 225g can pineapple pieces in natural juice, drained
  • 3/4 cup (store bought)sweet and sour sauce, heated
  • 2 green onions/shallots, thinly sliced
  • 1 bunch (230g) choy sum
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 3 cups cooked long grain white rice

Method:

  1. Put rice on to cook first while you cook the main meal
  2. Place pork medallions, chopped capsicum and oil in a large bowl and toss to coat
  3. Season with a little bit of salt and pepper
  4. Preheat a large char-grill pan over moderately high heat (I don’t have a char-grill pan, just a normal one works fine though)
  5. Cook and turn pork and capsicum in pan together for 4-5 minutes, or until the pork is golden and cooked through
  6. Transfer pork to a heatproof bowl and cover with aluminium foil and rest for 5 minutes
  7. Transfer capsicum into a medium sized heatproof  mixing bowl
  8. Add pineapple to char-grill
  9. Cook and turn for 2-3 minutes or until golden
  10. Transfer to bowl with capsicum
  11. Add the heated sweet and sour sauce and the sliced shallots to the bowl and toss gently to combine
  12. Pour boiling water over the choy sum in a large heatproof bowl to cover
  13. Stir until just wilted and drain
  14. Add sesame oil and toss to coat
  15. Serve up cooked rice, choy sum, pork medallions and sweet and sour mixture onto a plate
  16. Enjoy!

I have never before had sweet and sour pork like this, and it was absolutely delicious! The only sweet and sour pork I’ve ever had is that horrid deep fried stuff from Chinese takeaway that seems to be floating in an overpowering sauce. This version is simple, clean and tasty. I hope you try it and enjoy, let me know what you think!

Eleanor x

2 responses

  1. I love sweet and sour pork..but I don’t cook it.. I usually have it at my aunt’s place (Cause she’s such a good cook) during gatherings and family dinners. Gd to see that you are liking your v own version. I’m sure it beats those Chinese takeways hands down!

    • This recipe was so tasty, definitely a winner compared to the takeaway versions, plus it was surprisingly easy to make! You should try it sometime (though I doubt it’s as good as your aunt’s – family always make the best food!)

Leave a comment